Job and Internship Prep

Top Library Databases

Business Source Complete

Provides regional news, primarily from East Coast and Midwest Sources. Also an excellent source for articles containing lists of U.S. and International companies and the only source for the full-text online version of the Harvard Business Review.

Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database

Provides brief information on 23 million private and public U.S. companies. Only companies with $1 million or more in sales or 20 or more total employees are included. The directory information includes: address, sales, number of employees, industry classification (SIC and NAICS), type of ownership, and names of chief executives. You can create lists of companies meeting specific criteria (geography, sales size, employee size, industry) and download the results to spreadsheets.

Factiva

Combines Dow Jones and Reuters content from over 8,000 publications:1,000 U.S. and foreign newspapers, 6,500 news magazines and trade journals, 270 newswires - Dow Jones, Reuters, AP, Asia Pulse, Transcripts of leading media news broadcasts - BBC, CNN, ABC, CBS, NBC, NPR, Company profiles and reports, European Union official documents. Factiva is the only database that provides the full text of the Wall Street Journal, 1984-present.

Hoover's Online

Provides extensive profiles for thousands of major public and private companies worldwide. Profiles include: company backgrounds, historical sketches, comparisons with competitors and financial data and reports.

LexisNexis Academic

Has an extensive "Company Dossier" for thousands of companies. To get to that particular section, click on the "Business" tab at the top. All of the sections can be expanded for more information, including the sections at the left.

Marquis Who's Who on the Web

Contains quick, authoritative bios on 1.4 million people worldwise. Obtain lists by categories, such as "marketing executives."

Newspaper Source

Provides current information from daily feeds from the Knight-Ridder/Tribune Business News and Knight-Ridder/Tribune News Service Newspaper Source as well as cover to cover coverage of The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and The Toronto Star. The database also contains selected full text from more than 180 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Macon Telegraph, Savannah Morning News, The Boston Globe, The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, and The Miami Herald. Also includes full text television & radio news transcripts.

ReferenceUSA Business

Provides directory information on over 12 million US businesses, public and private. Typical data provided are: address, telephone, county, metropolitan statistical area, yellow pages category, SIC and NAICS codes, both primary and secondary, contact person, estimated employee size (modeled), estimated sales size (modeled), web address, location map.

Thomson ONE Banker

Gives information on deals, fundamental ratios, stock performance, earnings estimates, industry benchmarks and brief business descriptions on both public and private companies.

Find it Fast!: Company Information Databases on Galileo

This website provides links to even more library databases that provide company information to help you in your internship and employment search.

Business & Economics Research Databases at the UGA Libraries

This website presents an overview of the UGA Libraries' collection of 50+ business and economics research databases.

Last Update: 27 Jun 13:31 | Tagged with: job search internship search interview prep