The UGA Map Library maintains the largest collection of aerial photography of the State of Georgia outside of the National Archives. The paper collection consists of over 230,000 photos from the late 1930s through the late 1980s. The aerial photographs in the Map Library were produced by a variety of state and federal agencies, including the U.S. Department of Agriculture and the U.S. Geological Survey, as well as for projects done by academics and private companies. For further information about our holdings please visit Aerial Photography in the Map Library.
This subject guide includes online resources for nationally and locally produced aerial photography and remote sensed imagery.
Air Photos - Georgia
The aerial photography and remote sensed imagery sources in this section are primarily produced by Georgia state and local agencies. Aerial photograhy of Georgia is also available in the national and international sources section of this page.
Aerial Photography in the Map Library
Offers detailed holdings information about the UGA Map Library's paper collection of over 230,000 photos of the State of Georgia from the late 1930s through the late 1980s.
Georgia Aerial Photographs
Provides online access to approximately 50,000 digitized black and white aerial photographs and indexes of select counties of the State of Georgia from the Map Library's paper collection via the Digital Library of Georgia.
Georgia GIS Clearinghouse
Offers free downloads of post-1980s aerial photography and imagery of the State of Georgia.
Air Photos - National and International
This section lists national and international sources of aerial photography and remote sensed imagery. For aerial photography specific to Georgia please go to the Georgia section of this page.
The Landsat Program is a series of Earth-observing satellite missions jointly managed by NASA and the U.S. Geological Survey. Since 1972, Landsat satellites have collected information about Earth from space. This science, known as remote sensing, has matured with the Landsat Program.
Microsoft Research Maps
Formerly Terraserver USA; provide free public access to a vast data store of maps and aerial photographs of the United States.
NASA Earth Observatory
Provides new satellite imagery and scientific information; the focus is on Earth's climate and environmental change.
NASA Planetary Photojournal
Includes images of Earth and other planets.
National Digital Orthophoto Program (NDOP)
Chartered in 1993 as a consortium of Federal agencies with the purpose of developing and maintaining national orthoimagery coverage in the public domain by establishing partnerships with Federal, State, local, tribal, and private organizations; provides links to imagery sources and data sites.
NOAA National Ocean Service Data Explorer
Offers interactive mapping tools that allow users to locate NOS products in any area in the United States and its territories through a metadata catalog, including imagery.
NOAA National Environmental Satellite, Data In Information Service (NESDIS)
Per its homepage, "provides timely access to global environmental data from satellites and other sources to promote, protect, and enhance the Nation's economy, security, environment, and quality of life."
USDA Farm Service Agency Aerial Photography Field Office
Primary source of aerial imagery for the United States Department of Agriculture with over 10,000,000 images; imagery dates from 1955 to present.
- Digital Orthophoto Quadrangles
Provides an explanation of DOQs and how to obtain them from the USGS
- Digital Orthophoto Quadrangles
USGS Fact Sheet 057-11 (May 2001) provides an overview of the production of and uses for USGS DOQs.
- Earth Explorer
Allows users to query and order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products through the USGS
- Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS)
Data available via the EROS Data Center (EDC) includes aerial photography, maps products, elevation products, satellite products and land cover products.
- Landsat Project
Homepage for the world's longest continuously acquired collection of space-based land remote sensing data.
- Looking for an old aerial photograph
USGS Fact Sheet 127-96 (May 1997) on finding old aerial photography.
- National Aerial Photography Program (NAPP)
Information about NAPP, including how to obtain images.
- National High Altitude Photography Program (NHAP)
Information about NHAP, which operated from 1980-89, including how to obtain images.
- USGS Global Visualization Viewer
A "quick and easy online search and order tool for selected satellite data."