GIS Data

National GIS Data Sources

This section lists national sources of GIS data. For GIS data specific to Georgia please go to the Georgia tab.

Click on a link to find GIS data in the following subject areas:

 

 

 

 

 

 

General

Federal Geographic Data Committee
An interagency committee that promotes the coordinated development, use, sharing, and dissemination of geospatial data on a national basis via the National Spatial Data Infrastructure.

geodata.gov
One-stop for federal, state and local geographic data.

Geographic Information Systems
An introduction to geographic information systems (GIS) from the US Geological Survey.

GIS Data Depot
Free and fee-based GIS data of all types available for download.

National Map Seamless Server
Offers free downloads of national base layers as well as other geospatial data layers from USGS.

[ Back to top ]

Agriculture/Forestry

USDA Forest Service National Forest Inventory and Analysis Spatial Data Services
Created to facilitate access to FIA data without compromising the security of the plot locations or land owner privacy; connects geospatial data submitted by interested parties to the geospatial information collected by FIA.

USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service Geospatial Information Branch
Administers Agency's activities related to the use of remotely sensed and other spatially referenced information for forcasting, estimation, and data presentation

USDA National Resources Conservation Service National Cartography and Geospatial Center
The mission of the NCGS is to provide the Natural Resources Conservation Service with technical leadership and expertise in the areas of cartography, aerial photography, imagery, natural resources data, geospatial technology, National Resources Inventory, and soil survey

USDA Risk Management Agency GIS Actuarial Maps
Provides shape files of the high risk or T-yield map layers of FCI-33 maps

[ Back to top ]

Census

National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatable boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.

Social Explorer

Provides access to demographic information for the United States, including historical data back to 1940; allows users to make maps and reports, visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S, and explore historical demographic data.

U.S. Census Bureau home

[ Back to top ]

Environment

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) home

  • FEMA Mapping and Analysis Center
    Provides national level Geographic Information System (GIS) support and coordination to the Federal Emergancy Management Agency (FEMA); includes maps of areas affected by natural disasters such as Hurricane Katrina

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency home

  • Envirofacts Data Warehouse
    Provides access to several EPA databases that provide information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States
  • Enviromapper
    Allows users to map various types of environmental information, including air releases, drinking water, toxic releases, hazardous wastes, water discharge permits, and Superfund sites

USDA Geospatial Data Gateway
Provides One Stop Shopping for natural resources or environmental data at anytime, from anywhere, to anyone. The Gateway allows users to choose their area of interest, browse and select data from the catalog, customize the format, and have it downloaded or shipped on CD or DVD.

[ Back to top ]

History

Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
Provides information about the creation and boundary changes of every county in the United States, from the the 1600s to 2000; includes downloadable shapefiles for use with GIS programs. A project of the William M. Scholl Center for Family and Community History at the Newberry Library in Chicago.

National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS)
Provides aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000.

Social Explorer

Provides access to demographic information for the United States, including historical data back to 1940; allows users to make maps and reports, visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S, and explore historical demographic data.

[ Back to top ]

Recreation

Appalacian Trail GIS and GPS Data
Downloadable GIS and GPS data for the Appalacian Trail.

National Park Service Geography and Mapping Technologies: Geographic Information Systems
Provides downloadable data and information related to the National Park Service

National Park Service Natural Resource and GIS (NR-GIS) Metadata and Data Store
Manages and shares natural resource and GIS metadata and data generated by the Natural Resource and Servicewide GIS Programs of the National Park Service

[ Back to top ]

Transportation

U.S. DOT RITA Bureau of Transportation Statistics home

[ Back to top ]

Water/Hydrology

National Wetlands Inventory Wetlands
NWI produces and provides information on the characteristics, extent, and status of the Nation's wetlands and deepwater habitats and other wildlife habitats; contains a variety of maps and data including the interactive Wetlands Mapper

[ Back to top ]

Weather

NOAA National Environmental Satellite, Data In Information Service (NESDIS)
Per its homepage, "provides timely access to global environmental data from satellites and other sources to promote, protect, and enhance the Nation's economy, security, environment, and quality of life"

NOAA National Ocean Service Data Explorer
Offers interactive mapping tools that allow users to locate NOS products in any area in the United States and its territories through a metadata catalog, including imagery

[ Back to top ]

Last Update: 12 Jun 14:58 | Tagged with: GIS government information maps