Maps, Gazetteers and Related Resources

Overview

Resources in this section are mostly produced by Georgia state and local agencies. Online and interactive maps of Georgia are also available under the US Maps tab.

The UGA Map Library has a substantial collection of paper maps of Georgia and other cartographic resources; please visit our Web site for further information.

Click on a link to find online maps of Georgia in the following subject areas:

 

 

 

 

 

Georgia Maps - General

Georgia Government Publications
Database containing over 30,000 publications of agencies within the Georgia state government, covering years 1994 to the present. Includes maps published by various state agencies.

Georgia Maps
Various maps of the State of Georgia from GeorgiaInfo, produced by the Carl Vinson Institute of Government at UGA.

Maps of Georgia
Various maps of Georgia from the Color Landform Atlas of the United States.

[ Back to top ]

Georgia Maps - Agriculture/Forestry

FSA - Georgia
Information about the Farm Service Agency in Georgia.

Georgia Department of Natural Resources
Maps and information about the Georgia DNR.

Georgia USDA-NRCS state web site
Provides information on the conservation of natural resources including programs to help address environmental concerns, news releases and information on upcoming events, office locations, and other information of interest to Georgia residents and partners.

[ Back to top ]

Georgia Maps - Census

Georgia 2000 Information System
Provides data from the 2000 Census, county vital statistics, economic development agencies, school districts and many more sources for Georgia and the Southeast; produced by the Carl Vinson Institute of Government at UGA.

Georgia Labor Market Explorer GIS Maps
Various labor-related census maps of Georgia.

Georgia Profiles
Census data for Georgia from the US Census Bureau State and County Quickfacts

[ Back to top ]

Georgia Maps - Education

University System of Georgia
Access to Georgia's higher education institutions with maps to their locations.

[ Back to top ]

Georgia Maps - Health

OASIS: Online Statistical Information System (Georgia Department of Community Health)
Web-based tool for public health and public policy data analysis; includes downloadable spatial data and mapping tool.

[ Back to top ]

Georgia Maps - Historical

Georgia Archives
Identifies and preserves Georgia's most valuable historical documents; includes Georgia's official land and cartographic records.

Georgia Historical Society
Georgia's historical society, one of the oldest cultural institutions in the state.

Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library - Historical Maps
The Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library at the University of Georgia maintains a collection of more than 1000 historic maps spanning nearly 500 years, from the sixteenth century through the early twentieth century, including historical maps of Georgia.

NAHRGIS: Georgia's Natural, Archaeological, and Historic Resources GIS
An interactive Web-based registry and geographical information system designed to catalog information about the natural, archaeological, and historic resources of Georgia.

Sanborn® Fire Insurance Maps for Georgia Towns and Cities from 1884 - 1922
Originally designed for fire insurance assessment, these large-scale, color-coded maps of U.S. cities and towns show the location and use of buildings, as well as the materials employed in their construction. The maps also indicate which city utilities - such as water and fire service - were available.

[ Back to top ]

Georgia Maps - Land Use

BLLIP: Building, Land & Lease Inventory of Property (State of Georgia)
An interactive web-based geographical information system designed to enable registered users to query, search and generate reports using real time information about State owned and leased properties and buildings.

Georgia Tax Assessors
One-stop portal to assessment, tax, parcel and GIS data for Georgia counties.

[ Back to top ]

Georgia Maps - Recreation

Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forests, Georgia Forest Service
Web site for Georgia's national forests.

Georgia Appalachian Trail Club
Contains maps of the Appalachian Trail in Georgia and links to other trails and maps.

Georgia Orienteering Club
Cross-country navigation and map reading society site.

Georgia State Parks and Historic Sites
Information about Georgia state parks and historic sites.

GORP Destinations - Georgia
Great Outdoors Recreation Pages (GORP) section on Georgia has information and links to many outdoor attractions in Georgia.

[ Back to top ]

Georgia Maps - Transportation

Georgia Department of Transportation
Includes a variety of online and downloadable transportation-related maps of Georgia.

Georgia Transportation Explorer
Interactive map allowing users to map various transportation-related data for Georgia.

[ Back to top ]

Georgia Maps - Weather

Georgia Skies
Provides weather information for the State of Georgia; site developed and maintained by the UGA Atmospheric Sciences program. and is an excellent source for Georgia data, maps, and imagery.

[ Back to top ]

Last Update: 12 Jun 14:59 | Tagged with: maps geography government information gazetteers