Overview
Resources in the section cover the entire United States. Online and interactive maps of Georgia are available under the Georgia tab.
The UGA Map Library has a substantial collection of paper maps and other cartographic resources; please visit our Web site for further information.
Click on a link to find online maps in the following subject areas:
US Maps - General
Microsoft Research Maps
Formerly Terraserver USA; provide free public access to a vast data store of maps and aerial photographs of the United States.
National Atlas of the USA
Interactive map tool that allows users to create their own maps of areas within the 50 states according to a number of variables, including geology, environment, people, agriculture and biology.
National Map (US Geological Survey)
An online interactive map service billed as the nation's topographic map for the 21st century.
Outline Map Sites
Contains links to various blank and outline map sites; page produced by the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection (University of Texas at Austin Libraries).
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Agriculture/Forestry
Farm Service Agency (FSA)
Administers and manages farm commodity, credit, conservation, disaster and loan programs as laid out by Congress through a network of federal, state and county offices.
Forest Service
Manages public lands in national forests and grasslands
- Forest Inventory Mapmaker
Produces tables and maps from the National FIA Resource Planning Act (RPA) or Timber Products Output (TPO) databases. - Maps and Brochures
Where to purchase National Forest maps and brochures as well as links to online Forest Service maps.
National Resources Conservation Service
Provides leadership and technical assistance to help America's private land owners and managers conserve their soil, water, and other natural resources
- List of USDA Soil Surveys by State
An alphabetical listing of all USDA county soil surveys published since 1899 by state. - National Cartography and Geospatial Center
The mission of the NCGS is to provide the Natural Resources Conservation Service with technical leadership and expertise in the areas of cartography, aerial photography, imagery, natural resources data, geospatial technology, National Resources Inventory, and soil survey - National Cooperative Soil Survey (NCSS) Web Soil Survey
Allows users to view soil maps and data to determine suitability of soils for a particular use
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Biology
National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII)
Provides increased access to data and information on the nation's biological resources; includes interactive maps and data by region.
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Census
Provides access to demographic information for the United States, including historical data back to 1940; allows users to make maps and reports, visually analyze and understand the demography of the U.S, and explore historical demographic data.
- Online Guide to Cartographic and Geographic Resources
PDF guide with links to all of the US Census Bureau's cartographic and geographic resources - American FactFinder
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data - Census Bureau Geography
The integrating factor for all US Census Bureau products; the framework on which the data rest. - Maps and Cartographic Resources
Contains links to the US Census Bureau's map products, boundary files and online mapping resources. - State and County Quickfacts
Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Environment
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Leads and supports the Nation in a risk-based, comprehensive emergency management system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation.
- FEMA Mapping and Analysis Center
Provides national level Geographic Information System (GIS) support and coordination to FEMA; includes maps of areas affected by natural disasters. - FEMA Map Service Center
Includes flood insurance rate maps, and floodplain mapping information.
NASA Earth Observatory
Provides new satellite imagery and scientific information; the focus is on Earth's climate and environmental change.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
- Envirofacts Data Warehouse
Provides access to several EPA databases that provide information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. - Enviromapper
Allows users to map various types of environmental information, including air releases, drinking water, toxic releases, hazardous wastes, water discharge permits, and Superfund sites.
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Geology/Geography
Geologic Atlas of the United States
Digitized version of the Geologic Atlas of the United States, a set of 227 folios published by the U.S. Geological Survey between 1894 and 1945. Each folio includes both topographic and geologic maps for each quad represented in that folio, as well as description of the basic and economic geology of the area. Maintained by Map and GIS Collections and Services within the Texas A & M University Libraries.
Geology.com
Devoted to geology and geology-related topics; includes a large collection of political and thematic maps for the United States and over 100 countries.
US Geological Survey (USGS)
A multi-disciplinary science organization that focuses on biology, geography, geology, geospatial information and water.
- Earth Explorer
Allows users to query and order satellite images, aerial photographs, and cartographic products through the USGS - Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS)
Data available via the EROS Data Center (EDC) includes aerial photography, maps products, elevation products, satellite products and land cover products. - Map Information
Contains information about the various USGS topographic, geographic and other special purpose maps and charts available in a variety of print and digital formats. - National Geologic Map Database
National Clearinghouse for geologic maps, datasets, and related geoscience information - National Map
An online interactive map service billed as the nation's topographic map for the 21st century. - USGS Library
Access to over 300,000 book, map, and serial records in the US Geological Survey Library online catalog; includes links to other online map and mapping resources.
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Historical
American Memory Map Collections (Library of Congress)
Focuses on Americana and cartographic treasures of the Library of Congress.
- National Atlases
Digitized version of the historical editions of the National Atlas.
Atlas of Historical County Boundaries
Provides information about the creation and boundary changes of every county in the United States, from the the 1600s to 2000; a project of the William M. Scholl Center for Family and Community History at the Newberry Library in Chicago.
David Rumsey Map Collection
Collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials.
Maps of War
Features Flash-animated maps of the history of war and wars throughout the world.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Office of Coast Survey Historical Map and Chart Collection
The Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection contains over 20,000 maps and charts from the late 1700s to present day; site includes an image catalog containing 21,000+ maps and charts dating from 1655 to 2001.
West Point Atlas of Military Conflicts
Strategic and historical maps covering major conflicts in U.S. history; from Military.com.
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Land use/Land cover
US Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
Includes maps of public lands managed by the BLM.
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service National Resources Inventory
A statistical survey of land use and natural resources conditions and trends on U.S. non-Federal lands.
USGS Earth Resources Observation and Science (EROS)
Data available via the EROS Data Center (EDC) includes aerial photography, maps products, elevation products, satellite products and land cover products.
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Recreation
Appalachian Trail Home Page
Information, resources, and maps of the Appalachian Trail and links to other related sites.
American Trails
Includes links to trails organizations, agencies, and support groups in every state sorted by trail type.
National Park Service Interactive Map Center
Contains information about and maps of national parks; delivers base maps and park brochure maps for geographic reference and navigation to and within parks.
National Park Service Maps
Contains digital versions of maps found in the official brochures provided to National Park visitors.
Rails to Trails Conservancy
Non-profit organization "creating a nationwide network of trails from former rail lines and connecting corridors to build healthier places for healthier people"; includes TrailLink.com, an online trail finder.
Trails from Rails
Includes links to trail maps by state.
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Transportation
State Government Sources: State Maps
Resources for ordering printed highway maps, which are usually available either via the state Department of Transportation or the state's Tourism division through their state vacation guides; site produced by the Evergreen State College (WA).
US Department of Transportation
- Federal Highway Administration
Includes a variety of highway and planning maps. - National Highway System
Includes state maps of the National Highway System.
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Water/Hydrology
National Wetlands Inventory
Provides information on the characteristics, extent, and status of the Nation's wetlands and deepwater habitats and other wildlife habitats; contains a variety of maps and data including the interactive Wetlands Mapper
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Office of Coast Survey Nautical Charts and Publications
Nautical charts that cover the coastal waters of the U.S. and its territories.
US Environmental Protection Agency Surf Your Watershed
Allows users to locate, use, and share environmental information about their state and watershed.
US Geological Survey NWISWeb
Provides a comprehensive gateway to water-resources data collected at approximately 1.5 million sites in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.
[ Back to top ]
US Maps - Weather
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
- National Ocean Service Data Explorer
Offers interactive mapping tools that allow users to locate NOS products in any area in the United States and its territories. - National Environmental Satellite, Data In Information Service (NESDIS)
Per its homepage, "provides timely access to global environmental data from satellites and other sources to promote, protect, and enhance the Nation's economy, security, environment, and quality of life" - National Weather Service
Includes a variety of interactive weather maps showing current conditions.
[ Back to top ]

