Maps, Gazetteers and Related Resources

Overview

A gazetteer is a dictionary or index of geographic names, coordinates and other features that allows users to identify and locate specific places. In addition to the online gazetteers listed below, the UGA Map Library has a number of paper gazetteers in its collection; please contact the Map Library for further information.

Gazetteers

Gazetteer of British Placenames
Provides the most exhaustive placename index to Great Britain, including commonly accepted alternative spellings and Welsh and Gaelic versions.

Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
Covers the United States and its territories. Produced by the US Geological Survey; see also U.S. Board on Geographic Names.

Geographical Names of Canada
Produced by the Geographic Names Board of Canada (GNBC).

GEOnet Names Server (National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency)
Official repository of standard spellings of all foreign place names, sanctioned by the U.S. Board on Geographic Names; also contains varient spellings. Covers foreign countries and regions outside the U.S. Produced by the National Geospatial-Intelligency Agency; see also U.S. Board on Geographic Names.

Georgia Place-Names
Written by Kenneth K. Krakow, the 3rd edition of "Georgia Place- Names" provides the history and origins of cities, towns and other places in the State of Georgia.

Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online
One of the Getty vocabulary databases produced and maintained by the Getty Vocabulary Program, the TGN is a structured vocabulary containing around 912,000 records, including 1.1 million names, place types, coordinates, and descriptive notes, focusing on places important for the study of art and architecture.

Global Gazetteer
Worldwide index of cities and towns produced by Falling Rain Genomics, Inc.

Last Update: 12 Jun 14:59 | Tagged with: maps geography government information gazetteers