Maps, Gazetteers and Related Resources

Overview

This page contains links to online cartographic reference sources and information. The Map Library also maintains a collection of paper, electronic and microform cartographic reference resources; please contact the Map Library for further information. For links to resources and tools for interpreting maps and measuring the Earth's surface, please go to the Tools & Definitions tab.

Bibliographies | Citing Maps | Dictionaries | Time & Tides | ZIP Codes

Bibliographies and Cartobibliographies

Map History / History of Cartography
Information and links to other resources related to the history of cartography.

US Forest Service: Forest Atlas of the National Forests of the United States
This cartobibliography from the University of Oregon includes 156 folios covering a period from 1907 to 1929.

[ Back to top ]

Citing Maps

Citing Maps
Various guides to citing maps as sources of information; from Kent State University Libraries.

[ Back to top ]

Dictionaries and Directories

Association for Geographic Information GIS Dictionary
A searchable dictionary with over 980 terms and 52 diagrams from the University of Edinburgh.

Atlas of Canada - Facts About Canada
An online factbook of geographical information about Canada.

Chinese Number Symbols
A list of Chinese number symbols used in writing.

Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in GIS, Cartography, and Remote Sensing
Compiled by Philip Hoehn (David Rumsey Collection) and Mary Larsgaard (UC-Santa Barbara).

GIS Dictionary - ESRI
Dictionary of GIS and ESRI software-specific terms.

GIS Glossary - NH GRANIT
Glossary of GIS terms from the New Hampshire Geographically Referenced Analysis and Information Transfer System (NH GRANIT)

USGS National Geologic Map Database
A comprehensive search engine for geologic and other geoscience maps.

USGS Topographic Map Indexes
Scanned images of USGS topographic map indexes at 1:24,000, 1:100,000 and 1:250,000 scale from MapSport.

[ Back to top ]

Time and Tides

Astronomical Applications - National Oceanography Portal
Allows the user to obtain the times of sunrise, sunset, moonrise, moonset, transits of the Sun and Moon, and the beginning and end of civil twilight, along with information on the Moon's phases.

Earth-Sun Relations
Animation of the relationship between the Earth and the Sun as it varies throughout the year.

World Timeserver
Provides correct and current time in any world time zone, country or major city.

[ Back to top ]

ZIP Codes

Address and ZIP Code Information -- U.S. Postal Service
Find ZIP+4 codes for any address within the U.S.

National Address Server
Rewrites addresses into a proper format along with a ZIP+4 code.

U.S. Postal Service Acronyms and Abbreviations
Lists standard acronyms and abbreviations used by the USPS.

[ Back to top ]

Last Update: 12 Jun 14:59 | Tagged with: maps geography government information gazetteers