Germanic Studies

JSTOR

JSTOR provides online access to back issues (from the date of first publication) of important scholarly journals. It contains journal articles about the German language and linguistics, as well as German literature.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts focuses on the nature and structure of human speech, research in speech sounds, sentence and word structure, meaning in language, spelling, phonetics and the pathology of speech, and hearing. This database provides bibliographic citations. Over 2600 journals from 50 nations are reviewed for inclusion, as well as selected books, book chapters, and dissertations.

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography indexes are critical in literary and language scholarship. They index literature, languages, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, and folklore from over 4,400 journals and serials, as well as books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Approximately 45,000 records are added annually. This database is produced by the Modern Language Association. The print edition counterpart to this database began in 1921.

German News in LexisNexis Academic

LexisNexis Academic is a database that contains the full text of articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals. To find material in German, click on "News" in the left menu. Then click on "Foreign Language". Type in your search terms (in German) and change Language to German.

Results will be displayed with the most relevant first. You can see the most recent first: just go to the "sort" menu above the results list and change it from "Relevance" to "Newest to Oldest".

Multi-Search

You can search lots of GALILEO databases, plus the GIL Library Catalog, in one place, using Multi-Search. It's the first tab in the search box on the Libraries' home page. Or you can go directly to the Multi-Search page.

GALILEO@UGA

GALILEO@UGA is our gateway to hundreds of databases. Many of them index journal, magazine or newspaper articles.

Search a database to find articles on your topic. Some databases will give you the full text of the articles. Other databases will require you to click the Find It At UGA button button to see if we have the full text online or in print.

Go to the UGA Libraries home page and click on the Articles & Databases tab. Then choose German from the subject menu: 

Library home page - select 'German' under the 'Articles and Databases' menu

You will get a menu of databases relevant to Germanic Studies. In addition, under the More Resources tab, you will see information about other useful German web sites, books, and more.

 

Get the GALILEO@UGA Password

To access GALILEO@UGA from off campus, you will need the GALILEO password.

To get the password, log into your library account at http://www.libs.uga.edu/password.html

Enter your barcode, last name and PIN and click 'Login' to get into your account. (If you do not know your PIN number, you must fill in your barcode and last name and click on 'Get PIN'. The PIN number will be emailed to you at the UGA email address we have on file for you.)

When you are in your account, you will see the GALILEO password.

Last Update: 11 Aug 11:27 | Tagged with: german germanic linguistics language literature history society