Genealogy Research at the UGA Libraries

Census and Federal Government Resources

The Main Library has census schedules dating back to 1790. Schedules through 1920 are available for the southeastern states. Many of these are indexed. The indexes can be found by searching the online catalog by state (e.g. Georgia census). Many of these indexes are located in the microform area in the basement of the Main Library.

Books

  • Researcher's Guide to United States Census Availability, 1790-1920 by Ann B. Hamilton. Location: Main Ref CS48 .H36 1992. Provides tables indicating what materials are available for each county.
  • The American Census Handbook by Thomas Jay Kemp. Location: Main Ref CS49 .K4 2001. A directory of census information by state and county.
  • State Census Records by Ann S. Lainhart. Location: Main Library 2nd floor, CS68 .L356 1992.
  • The Library of Congress: A Guide to Genealogical and Historical Research by James C. Neagles. Location: Main Ref E180 .N43 1990.
  • Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives by National Archives and Records Services. Location: Main Ref Z5313 .U5 U54 1982.

Websites

  • Resources for Genealogists and Family Historians: This site from The National Archives will help a person get started with their research and covers topics such as Census Records, Military Records, Immigration Records, Naturalization Records and Land Records.

On-Campus Only Database

Ancestry Library Edition: The Ancestry Library Edition collection has approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S. federal census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center containing more than 1,000 historical maps; American Genealogical Biographical Index (over 200 volumes), Daughters of the American Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes), The Great Migration Begins: Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630, Social Security Death Index, WWI Draft Registration Cards, Federal Slave Narratives, and a strong Civil War collection. All materials may be searched at once (using a basic or advanced search screen), or various databases and indexes may be searched individually.

Note: Most general handbooks and guides to genealogy listed in this bibliography will also provide information about census and federal government sources, their availabity and use.

Last Update: 11 Jul 15:01 | Tagged with: genealogy research