Web Resources for Health Statistics

Resources

Major Statistical Sites

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Data & Statistics
http://www.cdc.gov/DataStatistics/
This page from the CDC provides links to an alphabetical listing of statistics on topics of public health importance. It also includes a link to Health, United States which is an annual report on trends in health statistics.

Fedstats
http://www.fedstats.gov/
Provides links to key statistics available from 100 Federal agencies including the Census Bureau, EPA, National Center for Health Statistics, CDC, Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, etc.

Georgia Public Health
http://health.state.ga.us/healthdata/
Provides state and county data on behavioral health, chronic disease, notifiable/infectious disease, perinatal/infant health, natality/mortality vital statistics, and women's health.

Healthfinder
http://www.healthfinder.gov/
Gateway to consumer health and human services web sites from the United States government. Provides access to online publications, clearinghouses, databases, and non-profit support groups.

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/
This site contains all of the articles, tables, and charts from all MMWR publications from 1982 through the present. This includes the MMWR Weekly Report, Recommendations and Reports, Surveillance Summaries, Summary of Notifiable Diseases, and additional supplements.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/index.htm
Provides national statistics by race, sex, and age for cholesterol, tobacco use, hypertension, infant mortality, low birth weight, prenatal care, births, deaths, cause of death, and life expectancy.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Summary of statistics and guide to statistical publications issued by the federal government. Statistics are primarily national, but many tables present data for regions or states and a few present metropolitan areas or cities. Subject coverage is very broad including population, vital statistics, health and nutrition, education, law enforcement, environment, employment, cost of living, social services, and transportation. 1951 to current.

Statistical Resources on the Web: Health
http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/sthealth.html
This extensive list contains links to web sites with databases and publications providing health statistics.


Accidents

http://www.cdc.gov/injury/wisqars/index.html
Provides national and state data on nonfatal and fatal injuries. It is an interactive database system that provides customized reports of injury-related data. Some data from the early 1980s through the previous year.


AIDS/HIV and Sexually Transmitted Diseases

HIV/AIDS Surveillance Report
http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/stats/hasrlink.htm

The annual HIV Surveillance Report provides an overview of the current epidemiology of HIV disease in the United States and dependent areas. CDC funds state and territorial health departments to collect surveillance data on persons diagnosed with HIV infection; all personal identifiers are removed from these data before being transmitted to the CDC via a secure data network. Data are analyzed by CDC and then displayed by age, race, sex, transmission category, and jurisdiction (where appropriate). Prior to the 2008 reporting year, the report was referred to as the HIV/AIDS Surveillance Report. The report is published annually in late summer or early fall.

STD Surveillance & Statistics
http://www.cdc.gov/std/stats/
State and National STD statistics from 1996 to present.


Cancer

American Cancer Society Cancer Statistics
http://www.cancer.org/docroot/STT/stt_0.asp
State and National cancer statistics from 2005 to present

National Cancer Institute Cancer Statistics
http://www.cancer.gov/statistics/tools

State and National cancer statistics from 1973 to present


Census and Demographic Databases

Georgia County Snapshots
http://www.dca.state.ga.us/snapshots/default.asp

First published in 1994, Georgia County Snapshots provides brief descriptions of the state's 159 counties and has been used by teachers, students, business leaders, elected officials and others for various research and presentation purposes. It has become one of the most popular and most requested publications of the Georgia Department of Community Affairs (DCA)

International Data Base
http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idb/
Contains statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for all countries of the world from 1950 through 2050 projections. Includes population by age and sex, birth rates, death rates, infant mortality, life tables, fertility, child survivorship, migration, contraception, literacy, and employment.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Summary of statistics and guide to statistical publications issued by the federal government. Statistics are primarily national, but many tables present data for regions or states and a few present metropolitan areas or cities. Subject coverage is very broad including population, vital statistics, health and nutrition, education, law enforcement, environment, employment, cost of living, social services, and transportation.


Diabetes and Digestive Diseases

Diabetes Public Health Resources 
http://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/statistics
Provides national and state data on incidence and prevalence of diabetes. Also presents resources documenting the public health burden of diabetes and its complications, such as chronic kidney disease and visual impairment, in the United States.

National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
http://www.niddk.nih.gov/health/health.htm
Provides patient level information and national statistics on diabetes, digestive diseases, endocrine and metabolic diseases, kidney diseases, nutrition and obesity, and urologic diseases.


Hazardous Substances

Agency for Toxic Diseases & Disease Registry

http://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/

The Agency for Toxic Diseases & Disease Registry, based in Atlanta, Georgia, is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.


International Statistics

International Data Base
http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idb/
Contains statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for all countries of the world from 1950 through 2050 projections. Includes population by age and sex, birth rates, death rates, infant mortality, life tables, fertility, child survivorship, migration, contraception, literacy, and employment.

UNICEF Statistical Publications
http://www.unicef.org/publications/index_pubs_statistics.html
International statistics on the health and well being of children.

Global Health Observatory
http://www.who.int/gho/en/
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information.


Legislation and Regulation

GPO Access
http://www.gpoaccess.gov
This web site from the Government Printing Office provides access to Congressional Bills from 1993-present, Congressional Record from 1994-present, Federal Register from 1994-present, History of Bills from 1983-present, the Code of Federal Regulations 1996-present, and the United States Code 1994-2006. FYI: Since 1926, the United States Code has been published every six years. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information


Physical Activity

Surgeon General's Report on Physical Activity and Health
http://www.cdc.gov/nccdphp/sgr/sgr.htm
This site provides the full text, summary, and fact sheets of the Surgeon General's Report on Physical Activity and Health.


Substance Abuse and Mental Health

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
http://www.niaaa.nih.gov/Resources/DatabaseResources/Pages/default.aspx
This site provides access to the large Alcohol and Alcohol Problems science database formerly known as ETOH. It also has links to the full text of Alcohol Alert and selected pamphlets and provides summaries from Alcohol Health & Research World, surveillance reports, and other publications.

National Institute on Drug Abuse
http://www.nida.nih.gov/Infofax/Infofaxindex.html
This source provides science-based facts on drug abuse and addiction.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Data, Outcomes, and Quality
http://www.samhsa.gov/dataOutcomes/
This site provides access to national and state data on the prevalence, patterns and consequences of drug and alcohol abuse. The site also includes mental health statistics.

Surgeon General's Reports on Smoking and Tobacco Use
http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/
Online Surgeon General reports from 1964 to present.

Last Update: 27 Jun 11:39 | Tagged with: health statistics web sites