Elections 2012: Primaries

Presidential Primaries

Primaries News:

CBS News Primaries page

- Contains interactive delegate map.

CNN Primaries page

- Contains interactive delegate map and results from previous votes in the primary season and information about issues and individual candidates

FoxNews Candidate Tracker

- Interactive application that tracks the appearances of the Republican candidates for the nomination.

MSNBC Primaries page

NPR Primaries page

- Contains calendar of upcoming primaries and current news stories relating to presidential primaries

NY Times Primaries page

- Contains comprehensive calendar and results, debate information, and issue tracking.

Real Clear Politics

- Includes up to date polling data about Republican nomination candidates

Wall Street Journal

- Primary Calendar Shake Up compares the influence of early voting states historically in the nomination process.

Primaries Process:

Role of Delegates in Presidential Nominating Process

- From the Council on Foreign Relations, a great explanation of the primary process and the role of delegates in the nomination process.

Caucus vs. Primaries: an explanation

- Easy to understand explanation of the difference between a caucus and a primary in the nominating process.

Republican Debates

Debate Schedule and Video

A caveat: Where I could find full video for the debates by their broadcasters or what I deem a reasonably trustworthy third party, I have linked them. (Debate video and transcripts are not kept in a central place on the web, nor is the full length video necessarily posted by the broadcaster.) A lot of debate video is on YouTube, but has been uploaded by users other than the broadcasters. I can't vouch for the uploaders, especially when they have usernames like NewtRocks or RonPaul4EVA.

May 5, 2011
Greenville, South Carolina
Broadcast by: Fox News

June 13, 2011
Manchester, New Hampshire
Broadcast by: CNN
Video: Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 (cnn.com)

August 11, 2011
Ames, Iowa
Broadcast by: Fox News

September 7, 2011
Simi Valley, California
Broadcast by: MSNBC
Video (msnbc.com)

September 12, 2011
Tampa, Florida
Broadcast by: CNN
Video Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 (cnn.com)

September 22, 2011
Orlando, Florida
Broadcast by: Fox News
Video (Fox News YouTube Channel, youtube.com)

October 11, 2011
Hanover, New Hampshire
Broadcast by: Washington Post
Video (washingtonpost.com)

October 18, 2011
Las Vegas, Nevada
Broadcast by: CNN

November 9, 2011
Rochester, Michigan
Broadcast by: CNBC
Video: Part 1Part 2Part 3 (cnbc.com)

November 12, 2011
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Broadcast by: CBS News
Video (cbsnews.com)

November 22, 2011
Washington, D.C.
Broadcast by: CNN

December 10, 2011
Des Moines, Iowa
Broadcast by: ABC
Video (c-spanvideo.com)
Video (ABC Specials via hulu.com)

December 15, 2011
Sioux City, Iowa
Broadcast by: Fox News

January 7, 2012
Manchester, New Hampshire
Broadcast by: ABC
Video (c-spanvideo.com)
Video (ABC Specials via hulu.com)

January 8, 2012
Concord, New Hampshire
Broadcast by: NBC
Video (c-spanvideo.com)

January 16, 2012
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Broadcast by: Fox News

January 19, 2012
North Charleston, South Carolina
Broadcast by: CNN

January 23, 2012
Tampa, Florida
Broadcast by: NBC
Video (c-spanvideo.com)

January 26, 2012
Jacksonville, Florida
Broadcast by: CNN

February 22, 2012
Mesa, AZ
Broadcast by: CNN

Transcripts
Lexis-Nexis Academic (I would consider this the most authoratative source for transcripts.)

  • On the left hand navigation, click on News, then TV and Radio Transcripts.
  • Enter Republican and debate in the search boxes.
  • Specify the date of the debate you're interested in.
  • Check only the broadcast source for that debate.
  • Click Search. 

The American Presidency Project (transcripts from June 13, 2011 debate to present)

Voter Registration Resources

Individual secretary of state offices

The Secretary of State's office in most states provides recent registration statistics online, in some cases down to the county and even precinct level.

Georgia Voting Information

- Voting procedures, registration, absentee voting, etc.

Georgia Poll Locator

- Finds your election polling place,state legistative and congressional districts.

ACC Elections Page

Sample Ballots

Issues and Policy

CQ Researcher (via GALILEO@UGA)

- comprensive database of exhaustive reports about important policy issues in the United States. 
- includes graphs, charts, historical information, and Pro v. Con commentary for every issue.

CQ Weekly (via GALILEO@UGA)

- covers issues in national and Congressional politics

On the Issues.org

- contains aggregator of statements on issues by politicians, state and national.

Pew Research Center

- contains data and analysis of 2012 Elections

- contains special reports about demographics, issues, and voting trends

- If you're not sure which political group you most agree with, their Political Typology Quiz is useful.

Policy File (via GALILEO@UGA)

- contains research and opinion papers from government agencies, think tanks, NGOs, IGOs, and research foundations.

beware of bias! Many of these papers and reports are intended to argue a particular point of view, and can be one-sided.

Project Vote Smart

- aggregates candidate public statements, campaign finance reports, and voting record information.

- Vote Easy quiz helps match political beliefs with the candidates that most match them.

Fact Checking Sites

PolitiFact.org

Factcheck.org

The Fact Checker

Last Update: 24 Sep 09:32